ICT overload….

Hi everyone,

We have reached the middle of semester two and mid semester break is upon us. Time to relax… HA! “What break?” I hear you say! I have been spending my mid semester break working on assignments that are due when I am on prac. I can almost feel certain I am not the only one doing this. I am not a big fan of mid semester breaks, because while my kids are on holidays I still find myself working away.  I need to keep reminding myself, this is all for a good cause. I struggle hiding the fact that I am feeling the pressure this semester, especially with prac just around the corner. However, I have a fabulous mentor, who has sent me lots of resources to help with my planning for prac.

As I mentioned in my previous blog, the school I have been placed at is an Apple school. Students each have their own iPad and most lessons students will use their iPads. This makes me nervous, as I have never been in a BYOD class before. Anyway, did I mention my mentor was amazing? Each cohort shares the planning amongst themselves and builds unit plans for specific subjects that is shared with the whole cohort. To do this, the school uses an iPad application call iTunes U. It allows teachers to add lesson material, create and manage lesson plans and all the information is in the app to share. This helps to streamline the learning between the classes as the same material is used in each classroom. I have been lucky enough to be provided with the access codes to have a look at all of the planning for term four. I am still yet to find some quiet time to navigate my way around the app, but thought this was an interesting tool that could be implemented in your future classroom, so, I thought I would share.

Until next time,

Kerrie

Itunes U

 

Leave a comment